Going Bananas

Senior Lounge
Cavalero Field

Q1 How did you choose the specific types of food for each portrait? What is their significance? Explain – be specific! (3 sentences min.)

The reason I chose the banana is because that is what Noah had in his lunch box.  I also chose this picture because it contrasted really well with the background, of it being packman.  I picked the apple because I am allergic to those, and I thought it would be a good idea for my model (Aryan) to stare at it intensely.

Q2 Consider the lighting in your photographs. What was the light source in each of your photos. What time of day? How did it affect the mood and atmosphere of the portraits? Explain – be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

In the first image, the lighting was from the lights that were on in the senior lounge, and also we were in a room with no windows.  This lighting affected the mood of the photo as I was able to get both the background and the model, and it came out with good results. In the second photo, there was light all around as it was the middle of the day, it would also be important to mention that this photo was taken when it was party cloudy. Similar to the first photo the lighting affected the mood and atmosphere as everything was able to be seen.

Q3 Think about the composition of your photos. Name the composition technique you used for each photo. Why did you choose to crop your photos as shown? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

The composition technique that I used was “Rule of thirds” and that would apply for both of the photos I took. In the first photo, I set and cropped the image so that the focus would go the pac-man. As seen in the photo the  Pacman is eating the ghost and when you look to the right, next up is the Banana, as that is one of the things that he eats in the game. Rule of thirds was also demonstrated in the apple photo, as I wanted to main focus to be on the apple, as that was main subject in the photo.

Q4 How do the colors and color splash technique in your photographs contribute to the overall impact of the images? Why did you choose to mask the specific areas in color for each photo? Be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

The color and color splash technique contributed significantly to the photos. I chose to stick with the yellow theme in first photo. I originally just had the bannaa masked, but then I thought to myself that since the pacman was in the back, and it was also yellow, that it would make the photo even better. For the second one, I enchaed the apple to be even more red so that photo came out better.

Q5 Consider the technical aspects of your photography, such as focus (lens size 75-300(lg) or 18-35(reg), or iphone mode/focus), depth of field (blurry background), and exposure (value in PS adjustment of your black, grays, whites). How did you use these techniques to enhance your images? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I lens I used for the apple shot was a 18-35 lens. I wanted a large depth of field as I wanted the model and his apple in his mand, but I also wanted for the background  to be visible and apart of the shot. For the second photo,  I used a I phone camera on focus mode.
Q6 What advice would you give to next year’s students for shooting food portraits? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)  

Fir next year students, the advice I would advice is to be creative. If you have an idea for a photo, take it and take as many shots as possible. You can never take to many photos, but you can too little.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *